Enable or Disable VLAN Spanning

Overview

When multiple VLANs exist on a single account, devices are unable to communicate with each other on the private network if they do not exist on the same VLAN. VLAN spanning enables all devices on an account to communicate with each other via the private network, regardless of their VLAN. This service applies to all devices on the account; spanning may not be selectively applied to specific VLANs or to specific devices. VLAN spanning may be enabled or disabled as necessary and takes approximately 15 minutes to process once a change to the setting has been made. Follow the steps below to enable or disable VLAN spanning on an account.

Enable or Disable VLAN Spanning

  1. Access the VLANs screen in the Customer Portal. Refer to Access the VLANs Screen.
  2. Click the Span tab to access the VLAN Spanning section.
  3. Click the On radio button to enable VLAN spanning. Click the Off radio button to disable VLAN spanning.

What Happens Next

After updating VLAN spanning selections, the request may take up to 15 minutes to process. A confirmation of the change will briefly appear below the Span tab. If enabling VLAN spanning, devices will be able to communicate with one another across VLANs using the private network after the update has been processed. If disabling spanning, devices will only be connect to one another if they reside in the same VLAN; cross-VLAN communication will no longer be enabled. VLAN spanning settings may be updated at any time by repeating the steps above. Toggling between VLAN spanning settings in a short amount of time may result in a delay of settings being applied.