安装 Nimsoft Monitoring Robot

概述

为了能够在现有裸机服务器或虚拟服务器上运行高级监视功能,必须安装 Nimsoft Monitoring Robot。通过 Nimsoft Monitoring Robot,SoftLayer 监视管理系统可以与专用网络上的裸机服务器或虚拟服务器进行通信。Nimsoft Monitoring Robot 在安装后大约需要五到十分钟才能在客户门户网站上可用。执行以下步骤以在 Windows 或 Linux 中安装 Nimsoft Monitoring Robot。

安装说明

在完成安装过程之前,必须打开以下端口以便连接到专用网络:

  • tcp/48000
  • tcp/48001
  • tcp/48002

此外,还应为专用网络打开端口 tcp/48003 到 tcp/50000,以允许 API 使用全部功能。可以选择是否打开这些端口,但如果不启用它们,某些监视代理程序可能会受影响。如果在配置期间遇到了错误,请在打开升级问题单之前先打开端口 tcp/48003 到 tcp/50000。在安装过程中,请记住以下额外限制和要求:

  • 某些监视代理程序(例如,Tomcat 监视代理程序)需要 openjdk
  • 某些 64 位 Linux 分发版可能需要 glibc.i686nss-softtokn-freebl.i686
  • SoftLayer 监视系统在 FreeBSD 中不受支持。

如果由于与 Nimsoft 机器人的通信故障导致在配置监视服务时出错,那么配置过程可能由于连接受限而暂停。引起此问题的常见原因是防火墙或其他安全软件阻止 Nimsoft 管理服务器访问系统。执行以下过程以重新开始配置监视服务:

重新开始配置监视代理程序

  1. 登录到客户门户网站
  2. 浏览至设备菜单,然后选择监视
  3. 找到要为其配置监视服务的系统。
  4. 选择右侧列中高级下拉菜单下的“重新部署所有代理程序”。
  5. 选择弹出式页面上的监视模板。
  6. 单击重新部署

在 Windows 中进行安装

  1. 访问 http://downloads.service.softlayer.com/nimsoft 将最新版本的 Windows 安装程序下载到设备上以进行安装(您必须连接到 SoftLayer VPN)。
  2. 以管理员身份运行 Nimsoft Monitoring Robot 可执行文件。

在 Linux 中进行安装

  1. 通过 VPN 连接到专用网络。
  2. 32 位64 位 Linux 安装程序下载到设备上以进行安装。Nimsoft 安装程序上还提供了 Debian 和 Ubuntu 版本。
  3. 运行以下命令以完成安装,如果运行的是 64 位安装程序,请将 32 替换为 64:
    $ tar –xzvf NIMSOFT_LINUX_32.tar.gz
    $ cd NIMSOFT_LINUX_32
    $ ./install.sh
    

后续情况

运行安装可执行文件或命令后,系统将自动完成安装过程。在 Windows 中,将出现一个弹出框,确认成功安装或显示关于可能出现的任何错误的信息。

Install the Nimsoft Monitoring Robot

Overview

In order to allow advanced monitoring to function on an existing Bare Metal Server or Virtual Server, the Nimsoft Monitoring Robot must be installed. The Nimsoft Monitoring Robot allows the SoftLayer monitoring management system to communicate with the Bare Metal Server or Virtual Server on the Private Network. Upon installing the Nimsoft Monitoring Robot, it takes approximately five to ten minute for it to become available on the Customer Portal. Follow the steps below to install the Nimsoft Monitoring Robot in Windows or Linux.

Installation Notes

Prior to completing the procedure, the following ports must be open on to the Private Network:

  • tcp/48000
  • tcp/48001
  • tcp/48002

Additionally, ports tcp/48003 through tcp/50000 should be open for the Private Network to allow for full functionality used by the API. Opening these ports is optional, but if they are not enabled some monitoring agents may be affected. If errors are encountered during configuration, open ports tcp/48003 through tcp/50000 prior to opening a ticket for escalation. Keep in mind these additional limitations and requirements during the installation process:

  • openjdk is required for certain monitoring agents, such as Tomcat Monitoring Agent.
  • Some 64-bit Linux distributions may require glibc.i686 and nss-softtokn-freebl.i686.
  • SoftLayer’s monitoring system is not supported in FreeBSD.

If there is an error configuring the monitoring service on due to communication errors with the Nimsoft robot, the configuration process maybe paused due to the limited connectivity.  A common cause of this issue is a firewall or other security software blocking access to the system from our Nimsoft management servers.  Follow the process below to restart provisioning of the monitoring service:

Restart provisioning of a monitoring agent

  1. Log into the Customer Portal.
  2. Navigate to the Devices menu and select Monitoring.
  3. Find the system for which monitoring is being configured.
  4. Select "Redeploy all agents" under the Advanced drop in the right column.
  5. Choose a monitoring template on the Pop-In page.
  6. Click Re-Deploy

Install in Windows

  1. Visit http://downloads.service.softlayer.com/nimsoft to download the latest version of the Windows Installer to the device for installation (You must be connected to the SoftLayer VPN).
  2. Run the Nimsoft Monitoring Robot executable as an Administrator.

Install in Linux

  1. Connect to the private network through VPN.
  2. Download the 32-bit or 64-bit Linux Installer to the device for installation. Debian and Ubuntu versions are also available on the Nimsoft Installer.
  3. Run the following commands to complete the installation, replacing 32 with 64 if running a 64-bit installation:
    $ tar –xzvf NIMSOFT_LINUX_32.tar.gz
    $ cd NIMSOFT_LINUX_32
    $ ./install.sh
    

What Happens Next

After running the executable or command for installation, the system will automatically complete the process. In Windows, a pop-up box will appear with a confirmation of successful install or with information about any errors that may have occurred.