Perform an OS Reload from an Image Template

Overview

Similar to the standard OS Reload, reloading a device from an Image Template allows users to restore or reconfigure a device based off a pre-existing Image Template that is associated with the Customer Portal account in use. During the standard OS Reload process, configuration options for the device may be selected individually, while the Load From Image feature loads the configuration exactly as it appears in the Image Template. Optional features may still be added prior to performing the reload. Follow the steps below to perform an OS reload from an Image Template using the Load From Image feature in the Customer Portal.

Perform an OS Reload from an Image Template

  1. Back up all data on the device.
    Note: OS Reloads result in all data being wiped from the hard drive. If data is not backed up prior to the initiation of the OS Reload, it cannot be retrieved. SoftLayer does not back up any data stored on customer devices and is not responsible for any loss of data associated with the OS Reload process.
  2. Access the Device List on the Customer Portal. Refer to Access the Device List.
  3. Select Load from Image from the Actions drop down menu for the desired device.
  4. Select the desired Image Template check box to select the Image Template that will be loaded to the device.
    Note: Prior to completing the reload, the Image Template will be copied to the data center that contains the device, if it is not already located in the same data center. If the Image Template must be copied to the appropriate data center, an additional fee may be charged if the template is not deleted from the location after the OS Reload occurs.
  5. Determine if additional Optional Features should be added to the device as part of the Reload process.

    If additional Optional Features... Then...
    Should not be added to the device
    • Click the Load Selected Image button.
    • Review the Image Configuration and click the Next button to proceed to the next screen or the Cancel button to cancel the action.
    • Click the Confirm OS Reload button to confirm the action and begin the OS reload process. Click the Cancel button to cancel the action. No further action is required.
     
    Should be added to the device Click the View Optional Features button.
  6. Configure additional options as desired. Refer to the table below for more information.

    Configuration Option Required Action
    Post Install Script
    • To add an existing Post Install Script, Select the Script Name from the Existing Script drop down list.
    • To add a new Post Install Script, enter the fully-qualified domain name to the script in the Add New field.
    SSH Key Click the check box associated with the desired SSH Key to add the SSH Key to the device upon Reload.
    Reset IPMI Password Click the check box to reset the IPMI password for the device. This option is available for physical devices, only.
    Apply motherboard BIOS updgrades Click the check box to apply any available motherboard BIOS upgrades to the device. This option is available for physical devices, only.
    Apply firmware updates for all hard drives Click the check box to apply any available firmware updates for all hard drives on the device. This option is available for physical devices, only.
    Add to Spare Pool after OS Reload Click the check box to add the device to the Spare Pool after the OS Reload process has been completed. This option is available only on physical devices and requires internal approval prior to being available on an account.
    Erase all hard drives Click the check box to erase all hard drives during the OS Reload process. This option is available only on physical devices and requires special user permissions set by the Account's administrator.
    OS Reload with Disk Preservation Click the check box to retain all data on the current primary disk during the OS Reload process. Disk preservation results in the primary drive being converted to a Portable Storage device. This option is available only on virtual devices and incurs additional charges based on the billing patterns (hourly or monthly) of the device. Charges may be canceled by canceling the Portable Storage device any time after it has been created.
  7. Click the Load Selected Image button.
  8. Review the Image Configuration and click the Next button to proceed to the next screen or the Cancel button to cancel the action.
    Note: After clicking the Next button, all network ports for the device will be systematically shut down and the device will be unavailable for up to 15 minutes. During this time, the the action may be canceled at any time by clicking the Cancel button. The next step must be completed within 15 minutes of clicking the Next button or the previous steps must be completed again. This process is in place as a safeguard to ensure no additional data may be added to a device between the configuration confirmation and the OS Reload initiation.
     
  9. Click the Confirm OS Reload button to confirm the action and begin the OS reload process. Click the Cancel button to cancel the action.

What Happens Next

After initiating the OS Reload process, the device will be taken offline and the OS Reload process will begin. The time period in which an OS reload takes place varies based on the current and new configuration of the device. If the reload takes longer than 24 hours, please contact our Support team. When the device returns online, it will function as specified in the New Configuration for the OS Reload. All data previously saved to the device will be lost, but can be restored if a backup was made of the device prior to its reload. If data was not backed up, it cannot be retrieved.