API keys are unique, alpha-numeric identifiers that allow users to securely access the API. The API may not be accessed without an API key, which is linked to a specific user and provides the same permissions in the API that the user has in the Customer Portal. By default, API keys must be generated in order to be used. After a key is generated, it may be shown at any time. In the event that the API key is no longer necessary or the key has been compromised, it may be removed. Removing an API key dissociates the key with the user, making the key unusable when attempting to access the API. Follow the steps below to remove an API key.
Remove an API Key
- Access the Users screen in the Customer Portal. Refer to Access the Users Screen.
- Select Remove API Key from the Actions drop down list for the desired user.
- Click the Yes button to confirm removal of the API key. Click the No button to cancel the action.
What Happens Next
After the API key has been removed, the API key may no longer be used and the user will no longer have access to the API. The API Key column on the screen will change from Show to Generate while indicates the key has been removed. At any time, a new API key may be generated for the user. It is important to note that the new API key that is generated will use a different alpha-numeric combination than the previous key.