Users have access to the Customer Portal in accordance with their permissions at all times, unless a status has been changed that impacts their accessibility. At any time, a user may be removed from the Portal. When a user is removed, the user credentials for SoftLayer, including VPN, Customer Portal and API, are no longer associated with the account and they cannot be retrieved. For a user using IBMid, the IBMid remains valid and active for other IBM services, although access to the SoftLayer Customer Portal is removed. We recommend removing users that are obsolete or unused and those users that should no longer be permitted to access the account. If a temporary block on a user must be placed, but the credentials should remain associated with the account, please change the user's status and DO NOT remove the user. When a user is removed from the Customer Portal, the action cannot be undone. Follow the steps below to remove a user from the Customer Portal.
Remove a User
- Access the Users screen in the Customer Portal. Refer to Access the Users Screen.
- Select Remove User from the Actions drop down list for the desired user.
Note: A pop-up box will appear to confirm the removal.
- Verify the username for removal in the in the pop-up box.
If the username is... Then... Correct Click the OK button to remove the user. Incorrect Click the Cancel button to cancel the action.
What Happens Next
After removing the user from the Customer Portal, the user will no longer have access to the Portal, VPN connectivity or the API. The user credentials are deleted from the system and cannot be restored. If the user was removed in error, the user must be added back to the Customer Portal as a new user.