View and Edit Object Storage File Details

Overview

After a file has been added, details regarding the file may be viewed and edited at any time. Follow the steps below to view and edit file details for a single file.View and Edit File Details

  1. Access the Container containing the file requiring edit. Refer to Access and Exit a Container.
    Note: If the file for edit is located within a folder, click the Folder Name to access the folder's contents and locate the file.
     
  2. Click the checkbox next to the file you wish to view. The file details appear in the pane to the right of the Object List. Proceed to the next step to edit the file details.
  3. Click the Actions drop down list.
  4. Select one of the following options and follow the corresponding instructions based on the action to be completed for the file:

     

    Action Steps to Complete
    Copy
    • Select Copy from the Actions drop down list.
    • Select a location to copy the file from the Browse Locations pop up box.
    • Click the Copy button to copy the file. Click Cancel to cancel the action.
    Move
    • Select Move from the Actions drop down list.
    • Select hte location to move the file from the Browse Locations pop up box.
    • Click the Move button to move the file to its new location. Click Cancel to cancel the action.
    Download Select Download from the Actions drop down list. The file will be downloaded to your system in accordance with your browser's settings.
    Rename
    • Select Rename from the Actions drop down list.
    • Enter the new name for the file in the Rename text box.
    • Click the OK button to rename the file. Click Cancel to cancel the action.
    Delete
    • Select Delete from the Actions drop down list.
    • Click the Yes button to delete the file. Click No to cancel the transaction.
     

     

What Happens Next

The next actions are dependent upon the selections made using the previous steps. Generally, the selections will dictate the actions that are taken by the system on the file, however, when deleting a file, it cannot be retrieved. If a file was downloaded, it will generally be available within a location in your browser. Additional actions may be taken on the same file consecutively, so long as the file was not deleted.